FringeArts - We Shall Not Be Moved

Wilma Theater

265 South Broad Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107

Phone: 215.546.7824
Website: Click to Visit

Opera Philadelphia / Daniel Bernard Roumain (composer) Marc Bamuthi Joseph (libretto) Bill T. Jones (director)

What’s at stake here is America and its future. Who’s invited to participate?

On the run after a series of tragic incidents, five North Philly teens find refuge in an abandoned house in West Philadelphia at the exact location that served as headquarters of the MOVE organization, where a 1985 standoff with police infamously ended with a neighborhood destroyed and eleven people dead, including five children. This self-defined family is inspired by the ghosts who inhabit this home and begin to see their squatting as a matter of destiny and resistance. The group, named the Family Stand, is headed by self-appointed leader Un/Sung, and crosses paths with Glenda, a Philadelphia police officer, whose encounters with the family leads to a standoff that could threaten to repeat history.

A fusion of disciplines and genres, the score of We Shall Not Be Moved blends funk, rock, hip-hop, and classical music into a vital, experiential sonic form. This timely exploration of past and present struggles combines spoken word, contemporary movement, video projection, classical, R&B and jazz singing, and a brooding, often joyful score filled with place, purpose, and possibility.

Composer Daniel Bernard Roumain Libretto Marc Bamuthi Joseph Director, Choreographer, Dramaturg Bill T. Jones Conductor Viswa Subbaraman Assistant Choreographer Raphael Xavier Set Matt Saunders Costumes Liz Prince Lighting Robert Wierzel Projection Design Jorge Cousineau Sound Design Robert Kaplowitz Assistant Director Seth Hoff Performers Lauren Whitehead, Kristin Chávez, John Holiday, Daniel Shirley, Adam Richardson, Aubrey Allicock, Michael Bishop, Duane Lee Holland, Jr., Tendayi Kuumba, Caci Cole Pritchett

Co-commissioned and co-produced by Opera Philadelphia, The Apollo Theater, and Hackney Empire. Developed in partnership with Art Sanctuary.

Major support for We Shall Not Be Moved has been provided by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation. Additional support is provided by William Penn Foundation and The Wallace Foundation.

Festival Producer Robert M. Dever Festival Producers Arthur Kaplan & R. Duane Perry Festival Co-Producers Bill & Joyce Kunkle, Sissie & Herb Lipton, Andrew & Bryna Scott

Photos: Dominic M. Mercier (above), Dave DiRentis (below).

Saturday, 16 September, 2017

Other Dates For This Event:

For Information and To Purchase Tickets:


Phone: 215.413.1318
Website: Click to Visit